In the last three years, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has banned 20 of its 54 member countries from using their stadiums to host international games because they failed to meet “minimum requirements”.

Among the reasons cited by CAF for the cancellations were substandard fields, “poor and inadequate” dugout areas for team officials and the lack of fixed seating for fans.

In all, more than 10 of those countries were affected during the 2022 World Cup qualifiers who had their stadium accreditations revoked by CAF.

CAF through its media channel state that those stadiums banned from hosting International matches lack good pitch, floodlights, emergency medical facilities and an electronic scoreboard.

That the stadiums need to be modernised with a new standard pitch, media centre, VIP seats and spectators seats.

CAF also stated that the spectators stand of most of the stadiums needs general maintenance like painting and cleaning with refreshment and Catering Facilities for all spectators.

In addition to the areas highlighted by CAF, the toilets as observed by Prime Business Africa at the stadium needs to be kept in good health condition as spectators who use the facilities defecate and urinate on the bare floors.

The countries banned or have at least a stadium banned from hosting international matches are Senegal, Burkina Faso, Niger, Central African Republic, Nigeria ,Liberia, Malawi, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Sierra Leone, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Eswatini, Eritrea, Lesotho etc.

Member countries without any approved venues were asked to find neutral venues where they will stage their home matches.

Below are the list of Stadiums banned from hosting International Matches.

1. Siaka Steven National Stadium (Sierra Leone)
2. Zimbabwe National Stadium
3. Mavuso Sports Center ( Eswatini)
4. Independence Stadium ( Namibia)
5. General Seyni Kountche (Niger)
6.Bingu National Stadium ( Malawi)
9 Kamuzu Stadium (Malawi)
10. Kigali Stadium ( Rwanda)
11. Bahir Dan Stadium (Ethiopia)
12. Kasarami Stadium (Kenya)
13. Nyayo Stadium ( Kenya)
14. Leopold Sedar Senghor (Senegal)
15. Teslim Balogun Stadium( Nigeria)
16. 4 August 1983 Stadium (Burkina Faso)
17. Barthélemy Boganda Stadium (Central African Republic)
18. Setsoto Stadium (Lesotho)
19. Cicero Stadium ( Eritrea)

20. Nelson Mandela Stadium (Uganda

21. Sam Nujoma Stadium ( Namibia)

22. Lucas Moripe Stadium (South Africa)

23. Banjul Independence Stadium (Gambia)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here