Teams will this morning know their opponents in the first round of the 2022 COSAFA Cup to be staged in Durban next month as the draw is set to l take place at the iconic Moses Mabhida Stadium at 11 am.

The tournament, which runs from July 5-17, will once again feature last year’s beaten finalists Senegal as the west African guest nation return to try and turn silver into gold.

There will be two phases to the draw. The first sees the eight lowest positioned sides according to the latest FIFA Rankings contesting a first-round pool stage. They will be split into two groups with four sides each.

The top teams in each pool advance to the quarterfinals, where they join by the six higher ranked sides. The draw for this round will also be completed on Tuesday.

The competition continues in a knockout format after that, with the losing quarterfinalists to play in the Plate tournament.

The seeded teams for the first pool stage are Malawi, Angola, Comoros Islands and Lesotho, while the unseeded sides are Botswana, Eswatini, Mauritius and Seychelles. They will be drawn one by one in Groups A and B until those are full.

The draw will then switch to the quarterfinals, where the four seeded sides are Senegal, South Africa, Zambia and Madagascar. The other teams that enter at this stage are Namibia and Mozambique, with the final two teams represented by the winners of Groups A and B.

The seeded sides in the quarterfinals cannot play each other in this round, so there will be no repeat of last season’s final where South Africa beat Senegal on penalties.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here